Award-winning creative team of The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time reunite for a final farewell to the West End

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time National Theatre London Gielgud Theatre

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, National Theatre London, Gielgud Theatre, Cast 2016/2017 _

The National Theatre hosts a special platform with the original creative team of its award-winning production of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time on Thursday 1 June at 5.15pm, following the matinee performance at the Gielgud Theatre in London.  The discussion will be chaired by ITV’s Arts Editor, Nina Nannar.  Tickets for the platform are £5.

Celebrating the final week of performances in the West End, this exclusive platform brings together the original Olivier and Tony Award®-winning creative team, including  the director Marianne Elliott, playwright, Simon Stephens, Lighting Designer, Paule Constable, Designer, Bunny Christie, Video Designer, Finn Ross, Movement directors:  Scott Graham and Steven Hoggett, Sound Designer Ian Dickinson and composer Adrian Sutton.

At the time of its West End closing on 3 June 2017, Curious Incident will become the Gielgud Theatre’s longest running play in over 45 years.  It will have played over 1,600 performances and been seen by over 1 million people in London, and almost 2 and a half million people world-wide. The original production opened at the NT’s Cottesloe Theatre in September 2012, and transferred to the Apollo Theatre in March 2013 before transferring to the Gielgud Theatre in July 2014.  Curious Incident ran at the Barrymore Theatre in New York from September 2014 until September 2016, winning five Tony Awards® including Best Play and becoming the longest-running play on Broadway in over a decade.


The show tells the story of 15 year old Christopher Boone, who has an extraordinary brain; and is exceptional at maths while ill-equipped to interpret everyday life. He sets out to solve a mystery of who killed his neighbour’s dog, but his detective work takes him on a frightening journey that upturns his world. The role of Christopher has been played by 18 actors since the show originally opened in London. Luke Treadaway, who originated the role at the National Theatre, received a 2013 Olivier Award for Best Actor and Alex Sharp won the Tony Award® for Best Actor on Broadway.

As the National Theatre’s ground-breaking production of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time is about to close in the West End, it continues a second hugely successful tour of the UK and Ireland and a tour of North America.  Future international dates include its Canadian premiere at the Princess of Wales Theatre in Toronto from 10 October to 19 November 2017.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, adapted from Mark Haddon’s book by Simon Stephens and directed by Marianne Elliott, is designed by Bunny Christie, with lighting by Paule Constable, video design by Finn Ross, movement by Scott Graham and Steven Hoggett for Frantic Assembly, music by Adrian Sutton and sound by Ian Dickinson for Autograph.

The West End cast comprises of:  Joseph Ayre as Christopher Boone with Jo Castleton as his teacher Siobhan, Nicolas Tennant  as Ed, Sarah Stanley as Judy, Jacqueline Clarke as Mrs Alexander, Amanda Posener as Mrs Shears, Ross Waiton as Roger Shears, Matthew Trevannion as Mr Thompson, Gemma Knight Jones/Danielle Kassaraté, as No.40/Punk Girl, David Nellist as Reverend Peters, and nineteen year old Thomas Dennis is the alternate Christopher (the youngest actor ever to play Christopher). They are joined by Charleen Qwaye, Philip Stewart, Matt Wilman and Penelope McGhie.